Melbourne Announces Squads for 2019 Australian Boat Race


The University is excited to announce the official men's and women's squads for the 2019 Australian Boat Race.

The annual race encapsulates the 160-year rivalry between Australia's oldest universities, Melbourne and Sydney.

The 2019 chapter will take place on the Yarra River, following a 4.5km course from Toorak to the heart of the Melbourne CBD.

It will be Chris Hargreaves' third Australian Boat Race, but his first on the Yarra.

"One aspect I’m looking forward to is the atmosphere," he told Melbourne University Sport.

"Having a peloton of bikes following the race and other supporters lining the riverbank makes this a unique racing experience compared to when we’re on Sydney Harbour."

Women's coxswain Phoebe Georgakas is also looking forward to racing on home water.

"The aim is always to execute our best race on the day, but a bit of a home-ground advantage might help us in winning back the women’s trophy for Melbourne Uni," she said.

For more information about the event, visit the Australian Boat Race website.

See below for the full squad lists.


Milla Marston - Bachelor of Commerce

Fiona Macklin - Master of Development Studies

Brigid McKeagney-Douglas - Bachelor of Science

Kate Duggan - Master of Teaching (Secondary)

Eleanor Price - Bachelor of Science

Olivia Honore - Master of Teaching (Secondary)

Eliza Gaffney - Bachelor of Biomedicine

Georgia Lenton-Williams - Master of Global Media Communication

Phoebe Georgakas (coxswain) - Bachelor of Science

Sophie Walmsley - Bachelor of Agriculture


Zane Kosovich - Bachelor of Commerce

Fergus Ellis - Bachelor of Agriculture

Maxwell Fisher - Bachelor of Commerce

Robert Corden-McKinley - Bachelor of Agriculture

Christopher Hargreaves - Master of Teaching (Secondary)

Harry Isles - Bachelor of Arts

Thomas Page - Bachelor of Science

Seb Francis - Bachelor of Commerce

Jamima Jamieson (coxswain) - Bachelor of Agriculture